Tab Control for Template UI

Is there a feature you'd like us to add? Post it here.

Tab Control for Template UI

Postby crus007 on Fri Nov 11, 2005 9:30 am

We use MyGeneration with Sub Templates which generates BO's SP's and DAC's for our application in different templates.

For this purpose we need to setup common and specific configuration. We thought about by having the whole configuration UI on the master template which calls the sub templates.

The challenge we have is that the number of configuration items on the UI grows and the UI screen looks a little bit ugly.

If we could use a tab control we can group the UI configuration items on tab pages and the screen hopefully looks nicer ;o)
crus007
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2005 9:21 am

Postby dnparsons on Fri Nov 11, 2005 12:23 pm

Have you seen this?
http://www.mygenerationsoftware.com/TemplateLibrary/Archive/?guid=e38b4cdb-a62d-4d3d-9084-a43ff25d9056
:D Full Blown Embedded System.Windows.Forms user interface.
David Neal Parsons
EntitySpaces
User avatar
dnparsons
Lieutenant General
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 2:10 pm
Location: Miami, Florida

Postby crus007 on Fri Nov 11, 2005 12:29 pm

Cheers,

I will take a closer look. :D
crus007
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2005 9:21 am

Postby mike.griffin on Fri Nov 11, 2005 1:40 pm

Also. Remember. You can set coordinates on the controls too. Look at the new BETA Gentle.NET Business Entity BETA $Rev: 903 $ templates ui.
User avatar
mike.griffin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3290
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2004 6:10 am
Location: Indianapolis, IN

Postby mike.griffin on Fri Nov 11, 2005 1:43 pm

Read my post above first. There is also something called a \"Template Group\". Try this. Create a new template. Go to the template properties and change the type from \"Template\" to \"Group\" then you can add a bunch of subtemplates the box below. This doesn't help on the Tab Control issue but it is a way to create a single UI and have the variables be there for all sub templates. The master template becomes a UI only.
User avatar
mike.griffin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3290
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2004 6:10 am
Location: Indianapolis, IN

Postby justin.greenwood on Sun Dec 04, 2005 10:51 pm

I've added a really simple change to the API to allow for tabs. They work like this:
Code: Select all
ui.AddTab(\"First Page\");
ui.AddTextBox(\"tbControl1\", \"\", \"\");

ui.AddTab(\"Second Page\");
ui.AddTextBox(\"tbControl2\", \"\", \"\")

That code will put a textbox on 2 seperate tabs. There is no tab control, but you can spread your form out now easily across multiple tabs with very little code. It will be out with the next 1.1.x release
User avatar
justin.greenwood
Site Admin
 
Posts: 441
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2004 6:10 am
Location: Indianapolis, IN


Return to Enhancements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron